The Pogues

Dexter Lake Club Band singer and sax player featured on Walkmen Frontman, Hamilton Leithauser’s cover of Pogues song.

Hamilton Leithauser, frontman for The Walkmen, recently recorded a cover of the Shane MacGowan The Song With No Name. Shane McGown is best known as the lead singer and songwriter of punk band: The Pogues. This cover song is part of a compilation of various artists that also includes Mac Demarco and Heems and was put out under the title, Philia: Artists Rise Against Islamaphobia.

The Dexter Lake Club Band’s lead singer and saxophonist, Tim, joins Hamilton Leithauser on The Song With No Name. You can listen to the track and read more about the project here at Pitchforks coverage.


This recording is not the first collaboration between The Dexter Lake Club Band and Hamilton Leithauser. They first worked together on The Walkmen’s 2006 release ”Pussy Cats” Starring the Walkmen. That record features three of the members of The Dexter Lake Club Band joining forces with the Walkmen in their faithful recreation of the seminal record made by Harry Nilsson and John Lennon. You can hear Tim’s saxophone, Jamie’s bass, and Matt’s vocals on that record. Click here to listen to Rock Around the Clock.

Dexter Lake Club Band